20:35, Wednesday, 14.04.2021
ქართული English

Web Portal on Human Rights in Georgia

Advanced Search

Vice-speakers and chairs of the committees in the 9th convocation of the Parliament are already appointed


Natia Gogolashvili 

“I wish to have less radicalism and more truth in the Parliament of Georgia. I will do my best to promote further development of the parlamentarism in Georgia and to guarantee the right of each MP to have chance to demonstrate himself/herself in the work of the Parliament,” the new speaker of the Parliament of Georgia Irakli Kobakhidze stated.

On November 18, 118 MPs elected Irakli Kobakhdize to the position of the Speaker of the Parliament. Before the ballot, 138 MPs took registration. The parliament speaker was elected with secret ballot. Only three MPs voted against him; consequently the rest of the opposition MPs did not participate in the ballot at all. 

MP Tamar Chugoshvili from the Georgian Dream was elected to the position of the first vice-speaker of the parliament (120 vs 2 votes). The following vice-speakers were elected through secret ballot: Giorgi Volski – Georgian Dream Democratic Georgia (129 vs 3); Zviad Dzidziguri – Conservative Party (129 vs 2), Ilia Nakashidze – from Adjara quota (131 vs o); Irma Inashvili – Alliance of Georgian Patriots (106 vs 24); Sergi Kapanadze – United National Movement (94 vs 15). On November 18, the chairpersons of the different committees were also elected:

Otar Danelia – chairman of the Committee for Agricultural Issues;
Mariam Jashi – chairwoman of the Education, Science and Culture Committee;
Kakha Kuchava – chairman of the Environmental and Natural Resources Protection Committee;
Roman Kakulia – chairman of the Committee for Economics and Economic Policy;
Zviad Kvatchantiradze – chairman of the Committee on Diaspora and Caucasian Issues;
Tamar Khulordava – chairwoman of the Committee for the Integration with Europe;
Irakli Sesiashvili – chairman of the Defense and Security Committee;
Eka Beselia – chairwoman of the Committee for Legal Issues
Giorgi Liluashvili – chairman of the Committee for Regional Police and Self-Governance;
Sofo Katsarava – chairwoman of the Committee for Foreign Relations;
Giorgi Kakhiani – chairman of the Committee for Procedural Issues and Regulations;
Irakli Kovzanadze - chairman of the Financial-Budget Committee;
Akaki Zoidze – chairman of the Committee for Healthcare and Social Issues;
Sofo Kiladze – chairwoman of the Human Rights and Civic Integration Committee;
Mikheil Kavelashvili – chairman of the Sport and Youth Affairs Committee.

As a result of the October Parliamentary Elections, Georgian Dream Democratic Georgia has 115 MPs, United National Movement has 27 MPs, Alliance of Georgian Patriots – 6, Industrials – 1 (single mandate candidate from Khashuri municipality); former minister of foreign affairs Salome Zurabishvili became MP as an independent candidate.

Print Send to Friend Send to Facebook Tweet This
Leave your comment
Your name:
Your comment:

Security code: Code
Do you support the idea to restore Irakli Shotadze to the position of the prosecutor general?
Yes No do not know


They wait for me in Abkhazia
Last time, I visited Abkhazia five years ago. Since then, not a day goes by without thinking about it, without missing the Abkhazian
Another proposal on agreement
Women – victims of violence


Forgotten by government veterans
Every year, fewer and fewer veterans of the World War II meet the Victory Day. The society receives information about them only on
Villages of the Hopeless
What happened to Dream of Justice Revival?


Copyright © 2004 - 2021 HRIDC